Elements with the hexagonal close-packed crystal structure (packing layers only) include Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Sc, Y, Ti, Zr, Hf, Tc, Re, Ru, Os, Co, Zn, Cd, and Tl.

    Many structures can be viewed as hexagonal close-packed layers with occupied tetrahedral or octahedral holes between layers:
    Pa Tb Oc Ta Pb Ta Oc Tb Pa

Developed in collaboration with the
University of Wisconsin Materials Research Science and Engineering Center
Interdisciplinary Education Group   |   MRSEC on Nanostructured Interfaces
This page created by George Lisensky, Beloit College.  Last modified April 25, 2015 .